date

slogan
Menu

Napoleon Murphy Brock & Mats Öberg

Musicians talk about mixed feelings when they remember their auditions for Mastermind Frank Zappa. Nevertheless they consider it a musical accolade to have been part of one his band Projects or the other. Zappa was considered very demanding and meticulous when it came to the realization of his complex musical ideas and required the highest level of virtuosity and professionalism. But for a 16-year-old teenager from Stockholm this strict rules did not seem to apply: 1988 – Zappa is on his last big world tour – there is a meeting between the two. Before the concert in Stockholm Mats Öberg, blind from birth, presents a recording of T’Mershi Duween to Zappa, which he recorded together with Morgan Ågren and their former band Zappstetoot. Consequently he and Morgan are immediately invited as guest musicians for that evening’s show. And this concert in Stockholm becomes a highlight of the "Broadway The Hard Way" tour. For Mats Öberg it is the beginning of a solid musical career, which, in addition to his own projects, leads him into various Zappa bands over and over again until today. For example "Zappa's Universe", along with Mike Keneally, Steve Vai, Scott Tunes and Dweezil Zappa.

About a year ago, his musical paths crossed for the second time with those of Napoleon Murphy Brock. As early as 2003 they performed together with Denny Walley, Mike Keneally, Ed Palermo, Morgan Ågren, Tommy Thordsson and Paul Adamy as "Zappa Corner Band" at the Chamber Music Festival in Umeå (Sweden). So the two of them decided to join forces last year. The result is a program exclusively consisting of Zappa compositions, "reduced" to keyboards, saxophone and vocals.

Until now, you could experience the duo with their unusual arrangements in Scandinavia only, but with considerable success, as evidenced by the attendances.

For this year's Zappanale Mats and Napi have put their shoulders to the wheel and developed a show that should be a must for all friends of zappaesque sounds.

Mats Öberg (key)
Napoleon Murphy Brock (voc, sax, flute)

Read more...

Bad Penny

Bad Penny, named after a song of blues rocker Rory Gallagher (RIP), is, according to the  „Yorkshire Musik Live“ magazine the most popular foreign band of northern England.  Peter Möller (accordion, piano, keyboards), Ola Van Sander (vocals, guitar, dobro) and Axel Hennig (vocals, bass) are living in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and are on tour with more than 100 concerts per year.

The band is playing contemporary folk rock with multifaceted folk elements like Cajun, Celtic, Gipsy and Blues. Their songs are deeply connected with the celtic nordic tradition. Bad Penny is performing poetic rock'nroll with explosive energy and passionate drive. The influence of  Rory Gallagher (they dedicated their  CD „Return to the G-Man“ to him, exclusively with Gallagher cover versions) is characteristic. With their already proverbial nativeness and stage experience Bad Penny is known for presenting an unforgettible event to the audience.

Great to see you again at this year's WarmUp-Party at Kamp!

Read more...

ZAPPNOISE & FRIENDS

With a fine tradition a kind of Arf Society House Band will open the WarmUp Party of Zappanale at Kamp in Doberan City.

Zappnoise are from Stralsund and this year again they are going to play in a slightly different formation to celebrate the beginning of Zappanale #26 with new friends live on stage.

We are looking forward to listening to new and well-tried songs and for sure the up to now never tried co-operation with their guests Hakan (Arnie Fruit Quartet), Siglinde, Stoni & Mick (String Trash) is promising a jolly good time for the audience. Let’s have fun and don’t forget: MUSIC IS THE BEST!

 

ZAPPNOISE:

Agnete Granitzka (voc., keyb.)

Carien Streng (flute)

Kevin Nestler (trompet)

Andreas Safran (sax)

Sven Schönfeld (sax)

Stefan Berg (drums)

Jörn Bantow (bass)

Peter Görs (guit.)

Read more...

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #28

14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in 19 days!
14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in 19 days!

date

slogan
Menu

Napoleon Murphy Brock & Mats Öberg

Von durchaus gemischten Gefühlen berichten Musiker, wenn sie sich daran erinnern, bei Mastermind Frank Zappa vorgespielt zu haben und empfinden es zugleich heute noch als musikalischen Ritterschlag, bei dem einen oder anderen Bandprojekt dabei gewesen zu sein. Zappa galt als überaus anspruchsvoll und penibel, wenn es um die Umsetzung seiner komplexen musikalischen Ideen ging und setzte ein Höchstmaß an Virtuosität und Professionalität voraus. Für einen 16-jährigen Teenager aus Stockholm schienen diese strengen Regeln nicht zu gelten: 1988 - Zappa ist auf seiner letzten großen Welt-Tournee, kommt es zu einer Begegnung zwischen den beiden. Mats Öberg, von Geburt an blind, spielt dem Meister vor dem Konzert in Stockholm eine Aufnahme von T’Mershi Duween vor, die er mit Morgan Ågren und ihrer damaligen Band Zappstetoot aufgenommen haben. Daraufhin werden Morgan und er sofort als Gast Musiker für die Show am Abend eingeladen. Und dieses Konzert in Stockholm wird zu einem Highlight der „Broadway The Hard Way“-Tour. Für Mats Öberg ist es der Anfang einer soliden Musiker-Karriere, die ihn bis heute, neben seinen eigenen Projekten, auch immer wieder in diverse Zappa Bands führt. So z.B. für: „Zappa’s Universe“, zusammen mit Mike Keneally, Steve Vai, Scott Tunes und Dweezil Zappa.

Vor etwa einem Jahr kreuzten sich seine musikalischen Wege zum zweiten Mal mit denen von Napoleon Murphy Brock. Bereits 2003 traten sie zusammen mit Denny Walley, Mike Keneally, Ed Palermo, Morgan Ågren, Tommy Thordsson und Paul Adamy als „Zappa Corner Band“ auf dem Kammermusikfestival in Umeå (Schweden) auf. Und so beschlossen die beiden letztes Jahr, gemeinsam an den Start zu gehen. Entstanden ist ein Programm mit ausschliesslich Zappa-Kompositionen, „reduziert“ auf Keyboard, Saxofon und Gesang.

Bisher konnte man das Duo mit ihren ungewöhnlichen Arrangements nur in Skandinavien erleben, allerdings mit beachtlichem Erfolg, wie die Zuschauerzahlen belegen.

Für die diesjährige Zappanale haben sich Mats und Napi noch einmal gehörig ins Zeug gelegt und eine Show entwickelt, die für Freunde zappaesker Klänge zu den Pflichtterminen gehören sollte.
 
Mats Öberg (key)
Napoleon Murphy Brock (voc, sax, flute)

weiterlesen ...

Bad Penny

Bad Penny, benannt nach einem Song des Bluesrockers Rory Gallagher (RIP), ist dem „Yorkshire Musik Live“ Magazin nach die beliebteste ausländische Band Nordenglands. Peter Möller (Akkordeon, Piano, Keyboards), Ola Van Sander (Gesang, Gitarre, Dobro) und Axel Hennig (Gesang, Bass) leben in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und sind mit mehr als 100 Konzerten im Jahr viel auf Tournee.

Die Band spielt zeitgemäßen Folk-Rock mit vielfältigen Folkelementen wie Cajun, Celtic, Gipsy und Blues. Ihre Songs sind stark mit der keltisch nordischen Tradition verhaftet. Bad Penny spielen ihren poetischen Rock'n’Roll mit explosiver Energie und leidenschaftlichem Drive. Der Einfluss Rory Gallaghers (dem sie ihre CD „Return to the G-Man“ mit ausschließlich Gallagher-Coverversionen widmeten) ist kennzeichnend. Mit ihrer schon sprichwörtlichen Natürlichkeit und großen Bühnenerfahrung verstehen Bad Penny es, ihrem Publikum ein unvergessliches Event zu präsentieren.

Wir freuen uns auch dieses Jahr wieder auf Bad Penny auf der WarmUp-Party auf dem Kamp!

weiterlesen ...

ZAPPNOISE & FRIENDS

Nun schon traditionell, eröffnet eine der Arf-Society-Hausbands die WarmUp Party zur Zappanale auf dem Kamp von Bad Doberan-City.

Zappnoise kommen aus Stralsund und sind auch in diesem Jahr wieder bedingt etwas umformiert worden und erneut haben sie sich Freunde eingeladen, um den Beginn der 26. Zappanale gemeinsam live on stage zu zelebrieren. Neue und bewährte Stücke werden gespielt und das tatsächlich völlig ungeprobte Zusammenspiel mit den Gästen Hakan (Arnie Fruit Quartet), Siglinde, Stoni & Mick (String Trash) wird garantiert unterhaltsam werden. Let’s have fun and don’t forget: MUSIC IS THE BEST!

 

ZAPPNOISE:

Agnete Granitzka (voc., keyb.)

Carien Streng (flute)

Kevin Nestler (trompet)

Andreas Safran (sax)

Sven Schönfeld (sax)

Stefan Berg (drums)

Jörn Bantow (bass)

Peter Görs (guit.)

weiterlesen ...

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #29

20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 216 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 216 days!