date

slogan
Menu

The Muffin Men feat. Denny Walley & Ed Mann; special guest: “Candy” Zappa (UK/US)

The Muffin Men feat. Denny Walley & Ed Mann; special guest: “Candy” Zappa (UK/US)

Ladies and Gentlemen, and again: Plenty of Muffins!

With Muffin Men we are announcing really good old friends of our festival. They have accompanied us for 27 years, nearly from the beginning. After their legendary performances at Zappanale #2, #3, #14, #21 and #25 they are coming to Bad Doberan this year for the 6th time.

They are one of the most „senior“ Zappa/Beefheart Tribute Shows, they have been touring all over the world and have played with several alumni from Zappa's line-ups. Jimmy Carl Black would be the first to name, they have also done some recordings together with hin. But also Don Preston, Mike Keneally and Bunk Gardner have performed together with the Muffins. And of course we love to remember their gig with Robert Martin, Denny Walley, Ray White and Ike Willis at Zappanale #21. This year they will be on stage together with Denny Walley.

Many a time a concert of the Muffins started with the yellow snow, then led us into Inca Roads, and in an instant one found oneself in Muffin-Land, a very pleasant area! And we felt that it is not just a tribute band celebrating Zappa's work highly concentrated. The Muffins only take the primary material to create their own stuff and unveil it in an really impressive way.

Roddie Gilliard: bass, vocals
Paul 'Rhino' Ryan: drums, vocals
Ian 'Jumpy' Jump: lead guitar, vocals
Phil Hearn: keyboards, vocals

special guest
Denny 'Feelers Reebo' Walley: slide guitar, vocals

Additional Info

  • Bandvideos:

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #28

14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in -132 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 239 days!

date

slogan
Menu

The Muffin Men feat. Denny Walley & Ed Mann; special guest: “Candy” Zappa (UK/US)

The Muffin Men feat. Denny Walley & Ed Mann; special guest: “Candy” Zappa (UK/US)

Ladies and Gentlemen: wieder einmal Muffins satt!

Mit den Muffin Men kündigen wir Euch gute alte Freunde unseres Festivals an, die die nun schon 27jährige Geschichte der Zappanale nahezu von Beginn an begleiteten. Nach ihren legendären Auftritten der 2., 3, 14., 21. und 25. Zappanale geben sie nun schon zum sechsten Mal ihr Stelldichein in Bad Doberan.

Sie sind eine der „dienstältesten“ Zappa/Beefheart Tribute Shows, waren weltweit auf Tour und haben mit diversen Alumni aus Zappas Besetzungen gespielt. Da wäre an erster Stelle Jimmy Carl Black zu nennen, mit dem sie auch einige Tonträger einspielten. Auch Don Preston, Mike Keneally und Bunk Gardner standen in den Reihen der Muffins. Und natürlich erinnern wir uns nur zu gerne an ihren Auftritt mit Robert Martin, Denny Walley, Ray White und Ike Willis bei der Zappanale #21. Und in diesem Jahr stehen sie bei uns mit Denny Walley auf der Bühne.

So manches Konzert der Muffins begann mit dem gelben Schnee und führte in die Inca Roads und im Nu wird man mitten ins Muffin-Land versetzt, eine äußerst angenehme Gegend! Und wir merken, dass es sich hier keineswegs um eine Tribute-Band handelt, die hochkonzentriert Zappas Werk zelebriert. Die Muffins machen aus dem Ausgangsmaterial ihr ganz eigenes Ding und stellen dabei ihr langjährig erworbenes Können eindrucksvoll zu Schau.

Roddie Gilliard: bass, vocals
Paul 'Rhino' Ryan: drums, vocals
Ian 'Jumpy' Jump: lead guitar, vocals
Phil Hearn: keyboards, vocals

special guest
Denny 'Feelers Reebo' Walley: slide guitar, vocals

Weitere Informationen

  • Bandvideos:

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #29

20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 244 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 244 days!