Logo
Print this page

Cowboys from Hell (CH)

Cowboys from Hell (CH)

The Cowboys are coming to town! Shut down the stores, hide your daughters in your homes and put your valuables in a safe place – the wild riders from hell are not shy about using their Colts!

When the Cowboys perform, nothing stays in place. The trio makes its daring musical forays through styles and melodies as if a blizzard would sweep through the alleyways. A storm is created with daring arrangements that blow off roofs and knock down trees. The concert venue becomes a battlefield with steamy funk grooves at times, then the rock cannons boom to be followed again by wild improvisations.

The influences of Frank Zappa, Rage against the Machine, Don Li, Massive Attack, Screaming Headless Torsos and Pantera (who name one of their CDs "Cowboys from Hell") are loud and clear. But the music is still different and fresh, characterized by an unconventional use of electronics. Unbridled playing spirit and brute energy have gotten every club rocking till now. Of course, then it's great news that the Cowboys are continually on the move!

Christoph Irniger, Sax&Fx is a real whiz kid full of innumerable ideas. He learned his trade at jazz schools in Zurich and Lucerne and refined his skills during stays in New York and lessons from teachers ranging from Mark Turner to David Liebman. He brings down the weirdest sounds time and again and fears no opponents.

Marco Blöchlinger, Bass&Fx is one of the bassists most in demand in Switzerland, above all because he can really ride every genre with virtuosity. As a result, you find him in rock and pop stables as well as at other funk ranches. He has also been able to get a lot of concert experience thanks to this from an R.E.M. support act to a TV performance with Phil Collins.

The slang term of "shooting gallery" in German for drum sets finds its most complete justification in Chrigel Bosshard, Drums. And you are happy that he does not mistake Colts for drumsticks; nobody shoots faster than he does! As his fellow musicians, he is not squeamish in selecting his targets. He had solid training in Los Angeles from Joe Porcaro and Mike Shapiro, among others, and an impressive list of performances since then (with Sharika, Don Li, Lunik, etc.)

Jazz sheriffs watch out! This trio will slip away and again cause commotions!

Additional Info

  • Bandvideos:

FaLang translation system by Faboba
© Zappanale Festival 2017

Logo
Diese Seite drucken

Cowboys from Hell (CH)

Cowboys from Hell (CH)

Die Cowboys kommen in die Stadt! Schließt die Geschäfte, holt eure Töchter ins Haus und bringt die Spiegel in Sicherheit – den wilden Reitern aus der Hölle sitzen die Colts locker!

Wenn die Cowboys auftreten, bleibt kein Stein auf dem anderen. Das Trio unternimmt seine wagemutigen musikalischen Streifzüge durch Stile und Melodien, als rauschte ein Blizzard durch die Gassen. Mit waghalsigen Arrangements wird ein Sturm erzeugt, der Dächer abdeckt und Bäume umlegt. Saalschlacht ist Programm. Mal dampfen Funk-Grooves, dann rauchen die Rock-Kanonen, und dann wieder folgen wilde Impros.

Die Einflüsse von Frank Zappa, Rage against the Machine, Don Li, Massive Attack, Screaming Headless Torsos oder Pantera (die eine ihrer CDs „Cowboys from Hell“ nannte) sind unüberhörbar. Und doch ist die Musik eigenständig und frisch, geprägt vom unkonventionellen Einsatz von Elektronik. Ungezügelte Spiellaune und brachiale Energie haben bisher noch jeden Club zum Beben gebracht. Da ist es natürlich sehr willkommen, dass Cowboys ständig unterwegs sind!

Christoph Irniger, Sax&Fx ist ein Tausendsassa, der vor zahllosen Ideen nur so sprüht. Sein Handwerk hat er an den Jazzschulen Zürich und Luzern gelernt, verfeinert hat er es durch Aufenthalte in New York und Unterrichtsstunden bei Lehrern von Mark Turner bis David Liebman. Um sich schießend erlegt er immer wieder die schrägsten Soundvögel und macht dabei vor keinem Gegner halt.

Marco Blöchlinger, Bass&Fx ist einer der gefragtesten Bassisten in der Schweiz, und das vor allem, weil er virtuos wirklich jedes Genre-Pferd reiten kann. Und so findet man ihn in Rock- und Popställen genauso wie auf der einen oder anderen Funk-Ranch. Auch deshalb hat er eine Unmenge an Konzerterfahrung sammeln können: vom R.E.M.- Support Act, Lunik und Myron bis zu einem TVAuftritt mit Phil Collins…

Bei Chrigel Bosshard, Drums erfährt die umgangssprachliche Bezeichnung des Drumset als „Schießbude“ ihre vollste Berechtigung. Und man ist froh, dass er die Stöcke nicht mit Colts vertauscht: keiner schießt schneller als er! Wie seine Kollegen ist er bei der Wahl der Ziele nicht zimperlich: Solide Ausbildung in Los Angeles bei u.a. Joe Porcaro und Mike Shapiro, und seither eine beeindruckende Liste an Auftritten (u.a. mit Bonaparte, Sharika, Don Li, Lunik)

Jazz-Sheriffs aufgepasst: dieses Trio aus der Schweiz wird euch entwischen und weiter für Unruhe sorgen!

Weitere Informationen

  • Bandvideos:

FaLang translation system by Faboba
© Zappanale Festival 2017