date

slogan
Menu

The Yellow Snow Crystals

The Yellow Snow Crystals

After his last solo trombone cd "Loverman", which by the way contains a wonderful version of "Evelyn, a modified dog", Paul Hubweber felt an intensified thought of making a Zappa program.

He already knew Simon Camatta for several years, and he had played together with him in several projects, which made Camatta an appropriate peer. Camatta himself was linked by a long collective musical experience with Alexander Morsey who is well versed with Zappa stuff.

The first public gigs were quick to come.

Shortly a program originated which indeed was inpired by the music of Frank Zappa, but which goes well beyond.

Soon it became clear that the trombonist is overcharged when - at the same time - he has to take the main vocal parts. So Hubweber preached to the choir when he told Gerhard Horriar about his project.

Horriar is pioneer Zappatist and as Master Of Poetry Slam like a duck to water "with words". His cryptic wordplay is similar to Zappa's and well-known by the audience for years since his performances at "Vakanten Genies" and "Heinz im Sinn und die Geteiltdurchs".

This is not the work of copyists but experts who in no way are inferior to the master. They are working so long on every single part until they have created a high spirit program which is unique in itself, without loosing sight of the origin.

There is one detail which differs the music of the YELLOW SNOW CRYSTALS from Zappa's: While Zappa always underlined that he saw himself als composer and conductor the songs and german translations of the YELLOW SNOW CRYSTALS are developed as collective.

By the way the name of the band traces back to Zappa's LP Apostrophe(`), where Nanook, a small Eskimo boy is rubbing the deadly yellow snow crystals into the eyes of a seal hunter because he had killed his little favorite seal.

Additional Info

  • Bandvideos:

     

More in this category: « MAGMA

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #28

14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in -134 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 237 days!

date

slogan
Menu

The Yellow Snow Crystals

The Yellow Snow Crystals

Nach seiner letzten Posaunen-Solo CD "Loverman", auf der sich auch eine wunderschöne Version von "Evelyn, a modified dog" befindet, verfestigte sich bei Paul Hubweber der Gedanke, ein Zappa-Programm zu machen.

In Simon Camatta, den er seit einigen Jahren kennt und schätzt und mit dem er bereits in diversen Projekten gespielt hat, fand er schnell einen geneigten Mitstreiter. Camatta wiederum verbindet eine lange gemeinsame musikalische Praxis mit Alexander Morsey, der sich bestens auskennt im Zappatischen.

Die ersten öffentlichen Auftritte ließen nicht lange auf sich warten.

Es entstand in kurzer Zeit ein Programm, das zwar von der Musik Frank Zappas inspiriert ist, aber weit darüber hinaus geht.

Bald wurde jedoch klar, dass ein Posaunist überfordert ist, wenn er auch auch die hauptsächlichen Gesangsparts übernehmen soll. So rannte Hubweber bei  Gerhard Horriar offene Türen ein, als er von seinem Projekt erzählte.

Horriar ist Zappatist der ersten Stunde und als Master of Poetry Slam sehr zuhause "im Wort". Sein hintersinniger Wortwitz ist dem Zappas nicht unähnlich und dem geneigten Publikum seit Jahren aus Auftritten der "Vakanten Genies" und "Heinz im Sinn und die Geteiltdurchs" bekannt.

Hier sind keine Kopisten am Werk, sondern Könner, die dem Meister in Nichts nachstehen und einzelne seiner Preziosen so lange durch den musikalischen Wolf drehen, bis daraus ein alsolutes Gute-Laune-Programm entsteht, das etwas völlig Eigenes kreiert, ohne dabei je den Ursprung aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Merkmal unterscheidet die Musik der YELLOW SNOW CRYSTALS von der Frank Zappas. Während Zappa immer wieder betont hat, dass er sich vor allem als Komponist und Dirigent sieht, entstehen die Songs und die deutschen Übersetzungen der YELLOW SNOW CRYSTALS im Kollektiv.

Der Bandname, übrigens, geht zurück auf  Zappas LP Apostrophe(`), wo Nanook, ein kleiner Eskimojunge, einem Robbenjäger die tödliche gelben Schneekristalle (mit Schlittenhundpipi getränkter Schnee) in die Augen reibt, weil dieser seinen kleinen Lieblings-Seehund erschlagen hat.

 

Weitere Informationen

Mehr in dieser Kategorie: « MAGMA

supported by

  • sponsoren lehmensiek

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren schollenberger

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #28

14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in 321 days!
14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in 321 days!